Dire Straits

Sample this concert
  1. 1Down To The Waterline03:16
  2. 2Once Upon A Time In the West05:39
  3. 3Lady Writer03:49
  4. 4Sultans Of Swing06:14
  5. 5Eastbound Train04:00
Liner Notes

Mark Knopfler - lead guitar, lead vocals; David Knopfler - rhythm guitar; John Illsley - bass; Pick Withers - drums

Recorded in early 1979, this concert captures the original four-piece lineup of Dire Straits, before rhythm guitarist David Knopfler departed to pursue a solo career. Shortly thereafter his brother Mark would take control of the band, and eventually parlay his piloting role into a successful solo career of his own.

This five-song show is important as documentation of the beginning of Mark Knopfler's extraordinary musical talent. All the early hits are here, including "Lady Writer," "Down To The Waterline" and, of course, "Sultans Of Swing," with Mark Knopfler's now distinctive extended guitar solo.