Daniel Francis Doyle Nov 12, 2012

Daniel Francis Doyle

Sample this concert
  1. 1Welcome to Daytrotter00:08
  2. 2Always Calm04:08
  3. 3How Can You Work?01:57
  4. 4Learning Things At School03:49
  5. 5Send You Away02:47
  6. 6There Are Two Of You02:48
Daniel Francis Doyle Nov 12, 2012
Liner Notes

Daniel Francis Doyle takes pleasure in the tendency for humans to come unhinged in so many different manners. They allow themselves to just lose it, to run around frightened and shrieking at the tops of their lungs. They give themselves over to the liberty of just losing their shit. They blow some steam off and do crazy things and chalk it up to therapy, to it being therapeutic. We should all just be wise to get out of their ways and to appreciate them for their therapy sessions. They're just medicating the best way that they know how.

Doyle writes songs - in a more frenzied Elephant 6 Collective way -- about and for the worriers, for the resigned. He writes songs about and for those who have come to appreciate that there are various ways to pretend that it's all working, that you're not just having it handed to you. They are people who believe that they're on the road - or shortly will be - toward getting back on their hinges.

He sings about being one of those people who have been like "a pig rolling in shit." Now, this phrase is supposed to be seen as a happy place for the hogs. For a person, rolling around in shit isn't so great, but Doyle sings that he's learning not to mind it, that "it's not so bad." Once someone's able to appreciate the shit, it's only a matter of time before they're back on the hinges.