Sample this concert
  1. 1Words At Twenty Paces05:29
  2. 2Lovin' You Is Killin' Me03:01
  3. 3Why Lady Why03:37
  4. 4Mountain Music04:17
  5. 5Close Enough To Perfect03:48
  6. 6Take Me Down04:57
  7. 7Love In The First Degree03:54
  8. 8Changes Comin' On07:31
  9. 9That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine02:34
  10. 10Suppertime01:22
  11. 11Teach Your Children00:58
  12. 12Don't It Make You Want To Go Home02:59
  13. 13Medley: Salty Dog / Goin' Down The Road Feelin' Bad02:48
  14. 14Green River03:22
  15. 15Wildwood Flower03:13
  16. 16Feels So Right03:47
  17. 17Gonna Have A Party04:45
  18. 18Old Flame03:50
  19. 19My Home's In Alabama09:11
  20. 20Ramblin' Man02:15
  21. 21Fire On The Mountain01:25
  22. 22The South's Gonna Do It Again01:35
  23. 23Sweet Home Alabama02:23
  24. 24Tennessee River05:29
  25. 25Rollin' In My Sweet Baby's Arms07:26
Liner Notes

Randy Owen - lead vocals, rhythm guitar; Teddy Gentry - lead vocals, bass; Jeff Cook - guitar, fiddle, keyboards; Mark Herndon - drums

Although the band had been together in various incarnations and under names for nearly a decade, Alabama had only been a successful national country act for a few years when this recording was made. Officially named Alabama in 1977, the trio of Owen, Gentry and Cook had been together since the early part of the decade, working on and off during their years in college. They began writing original material in that same year and landed a one-LP deal with GRT Records. They had a minor hit called "I Wanna Be With You Tonight," which, despite only making it to #80 on the Country charts, gave the band enough impetus to launch a relentless touring schedule.

By the end of 1978, Alabama was doing over 300 shows a year and had become a major force down in Dixie. But the band's label went bankrupt and they were prohibited from recording with any other one for two years. They used their touring income to buy out their GRT contract, and afterwards released an independent record. They were immediately scooped up by another indie label, MDJ Records, who in turn got bought out in 1979 by RCA. Between 1980 and 1987, the group scored a remarkable 21 #1 hits on the country charts, many of which also crossed over to the pop charts.

With the power of RCA's strong country division behind them, the group soon established itself as one of the most popular country "groups" on the scene. Up to this point, nearly every successful country act had been an individual artist or vocalist.

This show features not only many of the early Alabama hits, but several covers of the band's favorite rock and country rock acts. They perform versions of hits by Creedence Clearwater Revival, the Allman Brothers, Charlie Daniels and Lynyrd Skynyrd. Opening act Janie Fricke joins for the encore of "Rolling In My Sweet Baby's Arms," bringing the show to a rollicking close.